ACB-Community-Events The weekend schedule #NewsNuggets (Don’t Delete Without Reading)

ACB-Community-Events The weekend schedule #NewsNuggets (Don’t Delete Without Reading)

Good morning to All!

Crafts, Holiday Parties, and discussions galore. Please keep reading to learn more.

There are some very good group events in this weekends listings.

Whether youre just looking for somewhere to unwind, have a discussion about grief youre experiencing, or learning to cope with recent sight loss, theres something here for you.

Dont delete this email without reading.

Screen reader users, use H or Shift H to navigate back and forth through the list.

You may attend via computer, smart device Cell phone of any kind and even landline.

Hello, and welcome to the weekend in our community!

Be sure to read to the end of this email for how to access Christmas-Themed Videos With Audio Description.

Stay safe and well, and we hope you enjoy spending time with us.

Saturday, December 19, 2020

Weekend Wind Down: 11am ET, 8am PT, 6am HT

Grab your favorite morning beverage and lets join Danette as we share an hour together, winding down from a long week.

Join the discussion:

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/83453355455?pwd=V3FzdEhpY1VvR1UzeTdvclNQaHlDQT09

One tap mobile: +13126266799,,83453355455#

Phone: 312-626-6799

Meeting ID: 834 5335 5455

Passcode: 683371

Healthy Living Accountability Check-In: 12pm ET, 9am PT, 7am HT

Join others in the community for goal setting and idea sharing around staying healthy. Whether its supporting you on your weight-loss journey, trying to lower your cholesterol, blood sugar, or blood pressure, becoming more physically fit, giving up a bad habit, or something else altogether, heres a chance for each of us to hold ourselves accountable in a supportive environment. Lets get together once a week and celebrate successes, encourage one another through struggles, and become a healthier member of this ACB Community in the process.

Disclaimer: The purpose of this group is for peer support only. It is not a therapy group nor will it be facilitated by a health care professional and does not purport to provide mental health services.

Join the call:

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/88570448385?pwd=bGxwdVg4OUtPRVNYKzc2QU1hQmZCZz09

One tap mobile: +13126266799,,88570448385#

Phone: 312-626-6799

Meeting ID: 885 7044 8385

Passcode: 457372

Angel Eyes Class: 12pm ET, 9am PT, 7am HT

Clear, simplified movement to fun, upbeat rhythms makes for a winning, sweat-inducing cardio workout every time. Add in light weights to get those muscles poppin and body will get movin.

Sponsored by Angel Eyes Fitness and Nutrition

Join the Call:

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/81352344854?pwd=WWdIamJLSmNUWCtSVlkwZHd1ckdjUT09

One tap mobile: +13126266799,,81352344854#,,,,,,0#,,924997#

Phone: 312-626-6799

Meeting ID: 813 5234 4854

Passcode: 924997

Saturday Casual Chat: 5pm ET, 2pm PT, 10pm HT

Join ACB Diabetics in Action for a casual conversation. Grab your favorite drink and join this social event. This is a great time to meet and share with other diabetics and friends or family of diabetics.

Sponsored by ACB Diabetics In Action

Join the call:

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/89890083677?pwd=dUZSSjJpanpINU84alhQNVhZOGxFQT09

One tap mobile: : +13126266799,,,89890083677#,,,,,0#,,,123321#

Phone: 312-626-6799

Meeting ID: 898 9008 3677

Passcode: 123321

Grief Journey: 6pm ET, 3pm PT, 1pm HT

Have you lost someone important in your life? Many of us are experiencing a journey of grieving. Please join us to share and support each other, at whatever point we are in our journey.

Disclaimer: The purpose of this group is for peer support only. It is not a therapy group nor will it be facilitated by a health care professional and does not purport to provide mental health services.

Join the call::

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/86326993699?pwd=NkZuSWw1TTA4U0Fsb0FNc3o1RzRwdz09

One tap mobile: +13126266799,,86326993699#,,,,,,0#,,475583#

Phone: 312-626-6799

Meeting ID: 863 26

Christmas Cafe with Rick and the ACB Radio Gang: 6pm ET, 3pm PT, 1pm HT

Join Rick and the ACB Radio gang for 6 hours of holiday music and chat for the holiday season. Bring your hot chocolate and get ready for a ho ho ho good time full of belly laugh! Request your favorite Christmas song.

Listen on ACB Radio Cafe:

www.acbradio.org/cafe

Or ask Alexa to, Open ACB Radio Cafe.

Join the webinar:

https://acb-org.zoom.us/j/83740069811

One tap mobile: +13126266799,,83740069811#

Phone 312-626-6799

Webinar ID: 837 4006 9811

Saturday Night Live Hangout Winter Holiday Traditions: 8pm ET, 5pm PT, 3pm HT

There’s a chill in the air, festive music playing and the smell of Pumpkin Spice wafts from every cafe; it must be the holiday season! Winter is home to holidays like Christmas, Hanukkah, Diwali, misoka, Yule, and many more and we want to hear about your traditions. Do you spend time with family, take a well-deserved winters nap, decorate, go on a trip? Does this have special religious meaning and how do you practice your faith? We look forward to seeing you all there. Happy Holidays everyone!

Sponsored by ACB Next Generation

Listen on ACB Radio Community:

www.acbradio.org/community

Or ask Alexa to, Open ACB Community.

Join the call:

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/88464959624?pwd=SXQ4aTE3QjRXazlGMzE4UnBBaEVrUT09

One tap mobile: +13126266799,,88464959624#

Phone: 312-626-6799

Meeting ID: 884 6495 9624

Passcode: 527564

Christmas Karaoke: 9pm ET, 6pm PT, 4pm HT

Its the holiday season and that means Christmas music. Whether its serious or humorous, a standard or pop, bring your holiday spirit and share with us your jingle jangle tune! Other genre of music is welcome, but we really hope youll help us spread some holiday cheer! So grab that glass of eggnog, or whatever liquid cheer you choose, and join Meka and Cindy for some magical, musical , mayhem as together we make a joyful noise.

List on ACB Radio Live Event:

www.acbradio.org/live

Or ask Alexa to, Open ACB Radio Live.

Join the call:

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/84421463247?pwd=R1Q0UnpTYTB3YUY5RysvclBuNjZ4UT09

One tap mobile: +13126266799,,84421463247#

Phone: 312-626-6799

Meeting ID: 844 2146 3247

Passcode: 331558

Sunday, December 20, 2020

The Breakfast Bunch: 11am ET, 8am PT, 6am HT

Join Lynn and the gang for an hour of free flowing conversation. You never know where the discussion will lead. It’s a great way to kick off the day!

Join the call:

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/83453355455?pwd=V3FzdEhpY1VvR1UzeTdvclNQaHlDQT09

One tap mobile: +13126266799,,83453355455#

Phone: 312-626-6799

Meeting ID: 834 5335 5455

Passcode: 683371

Crafty Holiday Party: 2pm ET, 11am PT, 9am HT

Join us in celebration crafty style. We have a variety of fun crafts and activities planned.
To receive updates and supply lists join us on Facebook at: acb-crafters-subscribe

Join the party:

https://acb-org.zoom.us/j/82399993360?pwd=eVpaeTJrZXVGOUNKTER2MkwxZ3JMQT09

One tap mobile: +13126266799,,82399993360#

Phone: 312-626-6799

Meeting ID: 823 9999 3360

Passcode: 442133

A Whole New World: 2:30pm ET, 11:30am PT, 9:30am HT

This is a place to go to for anyone and everyone who used to have sight and is trying to make their way through the new world of blindness. This is a place to exchange information among fellow ACB members as well as a safe place for people to ask questions about the blindness culture with no judgement.

Disclaimer: The purpose of this group is for peer support only. It is not a therapy group nor will it be facilitated by a health care professional and does not purport to provide mental health services.

Join the call

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/85158389170?pwd=UE12dncwc2FXcjV1SlpJeHptNS90QT09

One tap mobile: +13126266799,,85158389170#,,,,,,0#,,910342#

Phone: 312-626-6799

Meeting ID: 851 5838 9170

Passcode: 910342

Happy Hour With Trish Special Party!!: 3:30pm ET, 12:30pm PT, 10:30am HT

Come one – Come all, Its the best Happy hour of all. Sing your favorite Xmas song, join in on some Xmas trivia, share a favorite Xmas recipe, its all about Xmas! Where? At the best place in town where the company is awesome, and the drinks are free!!

Join the celebration:

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/3048708453?pwd=R0xkR1prYm5LUjZiUEUzenYyeEE2QT09

One tap mobile: +13126266799,,3048708453#

Phone: 312-626-6799

Meeting ID: 304 870 8453

Passcode: 196899

Apps We Like and How to Use Them: 4pm ET, 1pm PT, 11am HT

Lets take a deeper dive into both phone and computer apps we are using. We will have longer demonstrations of apps from There’s an App for that, and any other apps we finds useful are fair game. While different apps may be brought by the facilitator, we invite attendees to come with their favorite apps as well.

Join the call

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/84399351072?pwd=VUdPcHhBSlpWOUFFb0hGZnNTWGxXdz09

One tap mobile: +13126266799,,84399351072#)

Phone: +1 312 626 6799

Meeting ID: 843 9935 1072

Passcode: 224277

Lets Just Talk About Jesus: 6pm ET, 3pm PT, 1pm HT

The focus of these calls is to share our walk with God as born again Christians applied to daily life. Linda and Vicki invite others who are comfortable to share the same. Therefore, different denominations or spiritual views will not be discussed. This forum is intended to be a non-judgmental, warm, welcoming place of encouragement where we can talk about what God has done for us and share prayer requests.

Join the call:

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/83319908214?pwd=dWw5ZDV1RTdLdHIvc2hkbFZYTzZqdz09

One tap mobile: +13126266799,,83319908214#

Phone: 312-626-6799

Meeting ID: 833 1990 8214

Passcode: 458449

Family Traditions: 9pm ET, 6pm PT, 4pm HT

Whether it’s recipes, decorations, gatherings or gift exchanges, let’s share our family traditions. Maybe it’s baking cookies with the kids, wrapping presents or listening to a favorite story, caroling or going to church or a neighborhood event. Bring your stories, songs and recipes and spread the holiday cheer with ACB Families.

Sponsored by ACB Families

Listen on ACB Radio Community:

www.acbradio.org/community

Or ask Alexa to Open ACB Community.

Join the celebration:

https://acb-org.zoom.us/j/84890603005?pwd=eDNxVVBEN1RuaU5vUDBDMVl1YVpwZz09

One tap mobile: +13126266799,,84890603005#

Phone: 312-626-6799

Meeting ID: 848 9060 3005

Passcode: 466132

The Circle Celebrate Yule and the Winter Solstice: 9pm ET, 6pm PT, 4pm HT

The Winter solstice, or Yule holds a special symbolic place in rebirth celebrations across the globe. join us in celebrating the return of the Sun and the rebirth of the world. We will share multi-culture polytheistic traditions and stories around rebirth and how it influenced modern day holidays, and include prayer for fortune in the coming seasons.

Disclaimer: The circle welcomes all to attend the celebration and respects the right of individuals to believe as they do, however, this is a celebration of non-Christian, polytheistic, Pagan and Neo-Pagan beliefs and holiday celebrations.

Join the circle:

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/84097704766?pwd=aUE4OHhrZjJXWkRGUEdZODRFUG5tUT09

One tap mobile: +13126266799,,84097704766#

Phone: 312-626-6799

Meeting ID: 840 9770 4766

Passcode: 848563

Mondays sneak peak:

Manic Monday: 11am ET, 8am PT, 6am HT

The Power of Positive Prayer: 12:30pm ET, 9:30am PT, 7:30am HT

Easy Chair Yoga: 4pm ET, 1pm PT, 11am HT

There’s No Place Like Home: 6pm ET, 3pm PT, 1pm HT

A Regency Winter: 7:30pm ET, 4:30pm PT, 2:30pm HT

Cancer Support: 7:30pm ET, 4:30pm PT, 2:30pm HT

Out of Sight Adventures: 8pm ET, 5pm PT, 3pm HT

CCLVI Evening Chat: 8pm ET, 5pm PT, 3pm HT

Book Chat: 9pm ET,6pm PT,4pm HT

Gender and Transitioning: 9pm ET, 6pm PT, 4pm HT

Trina’s Lounge: 9pm ET, 6pm PT, 4pm HT

Serenity: 10pm ET, 7pm PT, 5pm HT

Christmas-Themed Videos With Audio Description

Did you know that over 100 movies are available with audio description from streaming services or on DVD? Neither did we! Thats why we researched this topic and compiled a listing for users of the Audio Description Projects website. We even allow you to sort the list by vendor so you can check out your favorite streaming services offerings. With the same movie sometimes available from different vendors, Netflix has over 50, followed by about 25 each from Disney+, iTunes, and Prime Video. Youll find A Charlie Brown Christmas and the Mariah Carey Christmas Special on Apple TV+, and 15 or so titles on DVD. So check out acb.org/adp/holidayad.html for the complete list! Youll find a link at the top of that page to sort by vendor.

Cindy Hollis

Membership Services Coordinator

American Council of the Blind

chollis

612-345-9036

Join our Community Events email list for a morning email with that day’s schedule: http://acblists.org/mailman/listinfo/acb-community-events

Read our expectations for participating in community events: https://acb.org/community-event-expectations

Join our ACB Community Facebook group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/acbcommunity

Learn more about becoming a member or friend of ACB: http://www.acb.org/join-ACB

Learn more about ACB: www.acb.org

Twitter: @aCBNational

Facebook: www.facebook.com/AmericanCounciloftheBlindOfficial

YouTube: http://tinyurl.com/gloz7bq

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: