ACB Community Events for Thursday December 24, 2020 #NewsNuggets

Merry Christmas Eve to those of you who celebrate. We invite everyone to take part in the festivities being offered throughout today.

If you would like to provide yourself a gift of membership to ACB, read to the end of this email on ways to connect to our state and special interest affiliates, to join as a member at large of ACB, or to become a friend of ACB.

Whether you celebrate Christmas or not, we hope you’ll share in community fellowship.

Thursday, December 24, 2020

Throwback Thursday – Holiday Memories: 11AM ET, 8:00 AM PT, 6am HT

Let’s get social. Join Cindy and the gang for this “Throwback Thursday” as together we step back in time and remember and each share a special holiday memory.

Join the discussion:

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/83453355455?pwd=V3FzdEhpY1VvR1UzeTdvclNQaHlDQT09

One tap mobile: +13126266799,,83453355455#

Phone: 312-626-6799

Meeting ID: 834 5335 5455

Passcode: 683371

Christmas Open House Party in the Cafe: 12pm ET, 9am PT, 7am HT

We will have programming on the Cafe throughout the day, well into the evening, continuing throughout Christmas day. Drop by for some jingle, jangle, festive fun to visit with our growing community and maybe even grab a virtual Christmas Cookie or glass of eggnog.

Listen in or stop by (all in Eastern time):

  • 12pm Open House
  • 1pm Darrow Loucks
  • 3pm Larry and John Gasman
  • 5pm Jeff Bishop
  • 7pm Jeff Bishop and Joel Snyder
  • 9pm Desyree Vaughn
  • 12am Jim Pemberton and Rachel Schroeder

Listen on ACB Radio Cafe:

www.acbradio.org/cafe

Or ask Alexa to, “Open ACB Radio Cafe.”

Join the celebration:

https://acb-org.zoom.us/j/85197958769

One tap mobile: +13126266799,,85197958769#

Phone: 312-626-6799

Webinar ID: 851 9795 8769

West Coast Cafe: 1pm ET, 10am PT, 8am HT

Come into our virtual Cafe and bring your favorite hot beverage, West coast Style. Drop in for 5 minutes or stay the whole time for some free-flowing conversation. Connect with good friends and make some new ones.

Hosted by the Capital chapter of CCB.

Join the call:

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/6180851747?pwd=TVZKdXRqNXp0TkN2alRFRDRwS29UZz09

One tap mobile: +13126266799,,6180851747#,,,,,,0#,,2221934#

Phone: +312-626-6799

Meeting ID: 618 085 1747

Passcode: 2221934

Resistance 101: 3:30pm ET, 12:30pm PT, 10:30am HT

It’s time for an upper body workout using resistance bands. Hand weights, Soup cans, or other household items can be substituted. These exercises can be done sitting or standing. Let’s all get moving with Leslie Spoone, Certified Aerobic Instructor and Personal Trainer.

Join the call::

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/85810305595?pwd=T1BlNEtiWi93eHZUcGF6bGgvNnU4UT09

One tap mobile: +13126266799,,85810305595#

Phone: 312-626-6799

Meeting ID: 858 1030 5595

Passcode: 954475

Virtual Tree Lighting: 6pm ET, 3pm PT, 1pm HT

Join your ACB Community as we light the Virtual Christmas Tree. Bring an ornament to hang on it and be prepared to describe not only the ornament, but it’s significance as well. Is it handmade or a family heirloom, big or small? Does it light up or play music? Is it made of paper or tin? Does it shine or sparkle? The lights and garland are already in place. We just need the ornaments and to plug the lights in. Oh yes, one attendee will be chosen to place the star atop the tree, and President Dan Spoone will do the honors of lighting the tree for us.

Listen on ACB Radio Community:

www.acbradio.org/community

Or ask Alexa to, “Open ACB Community.”

Join the festivities:

https://acb-org.zoom.us/j/89367439999?pwd=MWo5b2V1aURKMmpVVUVMd3Z6YlNBdz09

One tap mobile: +13126266799,,89367439999#

Phone: 312-626-6799

Meeting ID: 893 6743 9999

Passcode: 873322

Christmas for Kids and the Whole Family: 7pm ET, 4pm PT, 2pm HT

Join Joel Snyder, VITAC, and The Lumistella Company with a special radio broadcast of the animated holiday special, “Elf Pets: A Fox Cub’s Christmas Tale,”, followed by:

a special audio described production of Rory Hoffman’s “The Twelve Days of Christmas”, a visit from Santa himself and live phone calls from kids. The program will close with an historic airing of an audio described version of the 2015 White House holiday greeting including a tour of The White House at Christmas time.

Listen on ACB Radio Cafe or Community:

www.acbradio.org/cafe or www.acbradio.org/community

Or ask Alexa to, “Open ACB Radio Cafe,” or “Open ACB Community.”

Join the celebration:

https://acb-org.zoom.us/j/85197958769

One tap mobile: +13126266799,,85197958769#

Phone: 312-626-6799

Webinar ID: 851 9795 8769

Sobriety First: 8pm ET, 5pm PT, 3pm HT

This call is for you if needing the support of a 12 step meeting and are unable to attend one near you.

Disclaimer: The purpose of this group is for peer support only. It is not a therapy group nor will it be facilitated by a health care professional and does not purport to provide mental health services.

Join the call:

https://us02web.zoom.us/j/83910940980?pwd=SUxrOFRsZUx1SzhmdVRzb1B4MTEvdz09

One tap mobile: +13126266799,,83910940980#,,,,,,0#,,1935#

Phone: 312-626-6799

Meeting ID: 839 1094 0980

Passcode: 1935

Christmas Eve Story time: 9pm ET, 6pm PT, 4pm HT

From “A Visit from St. Nicholas” to “The Gifts of the Magi,” from “The Christmas Day Kitten,” to “The Christmas Story as told by Luke,” let’s gather together for a couple of hours around the virtual fire as community members read Christmas stories from long ago. This will be a wonderful way to spend Christmas Eve night, among friends, delighting in the wonder and spirit of Christmas.

Listen on ACB Radio Community:

www.acbradio.org/community

Or ask Alexa to, “Open ACB Community.”

Join the celebration:

https://acb-org.zoom.us/j/83997679778?pwd=UnJ1MXROYU9ZZWNQeUZhN25uR0Y3UT09

One tap mobile: +13126266799,,83997679778#

Phone: 312-626-6799

Meeting ID: 839 9767 9778

Passcode: 415263

Tomorrow’s sneak peak:

Christmas Open House Party in the Cafe: 8am ET, 5am PT, 3am HT

Christmas Morning Surprise: 11am ET, 8am PT, 6am HT

Christmas Brunch Bunch: 1pm ET, 10am PT, 8am HT

Celebrating Christmas Paws: 3pm ET, 12pm PT, 10am HT

Christmas Creations: 5pm ET, 2pm PT, 12pm HT

The Joy of Music: 7pm ET, 4pm PT, 2pm HT

It’s Play Time: 9pm ET, 6pm PT, 4pm HT

During this holiday season, give yourself the gift of true connection through membership in ACB!

If you join a state or special interest affiliate, you automatically become a member of ACB.

Find your local state affiliate here: https://acb.org/special-interest-affiliates

Learn about our many special interest affiliates and see if one is right for you: https://acb.org/special-interest-affiliates

If you don’t wish to join one of our affiliated organizations, you can join as a member at large here: https://members.acb.org/

If you’re not quite ready for membership but would like to show your moral support to ACB, learn how to become a Friend of ACB: www.acb.org/join-acb

If you have questions about membership, reach out to Cindy at community@acb.org.

Cindy Hollis

Membership Services Coordinator

American Council of the Blind

chollis@acb.org

612-345-9036

Join our Community Events email list for a morning email with that day’s schedule: http://acblists.org/mailman/listinfo/acb-community-events

Read our expectations for participating in community events: https://acb.org/community-event-expectations

Join our ACB Community Facebook group: https://www.facebook.com/groups/acbcommunity

Learn more about becoming a member or friend of ACB: http://www.acb.org/join-ACB

Learn more about ACB: www.acb.org

Twitter: @aCBNational

Facebook: www.facebook.com/AmericanCounciloftheBlindOfficial

YouTube: http://tinyurl.com/gloz7bq

About Patty L. Fletcher

Patty L. Fletcher lives in Kingsport Tennessee where she works full time as a Writer with the goal of bridging the great chasm which separates the disAbled from the non-disAbled. And as a Social Media Promotional Assistant. She is the owner and creator of Tell-It-To-The-World Marketing (Author, Blogger Business Assist), and is the published author of two books, Campbell’s Rambles: How a Seeing Eye Dog Retrieved My Life and Bubba Tails From the Puppy Nursery At The Seeing Eye: Volume One. She can also be found in two anthologies which are, December Awethology Light And A Treasure Chest of Children’s Tales. See her latest book, Pathway to Freedom Broken and Healed: How a Seeing Eye Dog Retrieved My Life Second Edition in eBook and Paperback at: https://www.amazon.com/Patty-L.-Fletcher/e/B00Q9I7RWG Find it in various accessible formats: https://www.smashwords.com/profile/view/PattyFletcher See her Facebook business page: https://www.facebook.com/tellittotheworld/ Patty loves receiving feedback about her work. So, drop her a line any time at: patty.volunteer1@gmail.com
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s